And the winners are . . .

Kathryn Bigelow ’81SOA, profiled in the last issue of Columbia, won the prizes for best picture and best director at this year’s Academy Awards for her film The Hurt Locker, which collected a total of six Oscars. Bigelow is the first female director to win either award. Earlier in the year, she took home six BAFTAs, the U.K.’s version of the Academy Awards, including the honors for best picture and best director . . . Geoffrey Fletcher, an adjunct professor in the School of the Arts’ film division, won an Oscar for his screenplay adaptation of Precious: Based on the Novel Push By Sapphire . . . Eric Mendelsohn, an associate professor of film, won the U.S. directing award for a dramatic feature at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival for his film, Three Backyards.

The best stories wherever you go on the Columbia Magazine App

Maybe next time