On Campus

Top Faculty Honored

Fall 2019



Top: Maria Uruarte, Taoufik Ben-Amor, Kimuli Kasara, Matthew Hart. Bottom: Gray Tuttle, Serena Ng, Benjamin Marcus, Pier Mattia Tommasino.

Eight faculty members in the Arts and Sciences began this semester as new recipients of Distinguished Columbia Faculty Awards, which recognize exemplary teaching and mentoring. The awards, which include stipends of \$25,000 per year for three years, were created with a gift from the late Gerry Lenfest '58LAW, '09HON.

The 2019 recipients are Taoufik Ben-Amor, the Gordon Gray Jr. Senior Lecturer in Arabic Studies; Matthew Hart, an associate professor of English and comparative literature; Kimuli Kasara, an associate professor of political science; Ben Marcus, a professor of writing; Serena Ng, the Edwin W. Rickert Professor of Economics; Pier Mattia Tommasino, an assistant professor of Italian; Gray Tuttle, the Leila Hadley Luce Professor of Modern Tibetan Studies; and Maria Uriarte, a professor of ecology, evolution, and environmental biology. This year, five other Columbia professors were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are philosopher Souleymane Bachir Diagne, art historian Kellie Jones, mathematician Michael H. Harris, computer scientist Kathleen McKeown , and biomedical engineer Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic.



Guide to school abbreviations

All categories >