Raney Aronson-Rath, Jeremy Eichler, and Other Columbians in the News

Poster of 20 Days in Mariupol

20 Days in Mariupol, produced by Raney Aronson-Rath ’95JRN, won the Academy Award for best documentary feature. Da’Vine Joy Randolph won best supporting actress for her performance in The Holdovers, which was written by David Hemingson ’90LAW and also received nominations for best picture and best original screenplay. 

Time’s Echo, a meditation on the connections between classical music and the Holocaust by Jeremy Eichler ’15GSAS, won the book of the year award at the 2024 National Jewish Book Awards. James McBride ’80JRN was also honored there for his novel The Heaven and Earth Grocery Store, as was Carlie Hoffman ’16SOA for her poetry collection When There Was Light

Binaifer Nowrojee ’88SIPA, ’89LAW was named president of the Open Society Foundations, which support democracy, human rights, free expression, and climate justice worldwide. 

The Whitney Biennial, a prominent survey of contemporary American art at the Whitney Museum, features work by ektor garcia ’16SOA, Julia Phillips ’15SOA, Ser Serpas ’17CC, Tourmaline ’06CC, and Kiyan Williams ’19SOA. The show runs through August 11.

Alex Mierjeski ’17JRN and his colleagues at ProPublica received the George Polk Award for national reporting for a series of articles on alleged ethical transgressions by US Supreme Court justices Clarence Thomas and Samuel Alito. 

Former Lions soccer star Ally Clark ’23CC signed her first professional contract, with the Danish team Odense Boldklub Q.

Constance Baker Motley on US postage stamp
United States Postal Service

The US Postal Service honored Constance Baker Motley ’46LAW, ’03HON, the judge, civil-rights lawyer, and second Black woman to graduate from Columbia Law School, with a commemorative postage stamp. 

Carolyn Woods Eisenberg ’71GSAS won a prestigious Bancroft Prize from Columbia, an honor for scholars of American history, for her book Fire and Rain: Nixon, Kissinger, and the Wars in Southeast Asia.

New York City Council member Shaun Abreu ’14CC, whose district includes Morningside Heights and Manhattanville, was named chair of the council’s committee on sanitation and solid-waste management. 

The Stag, written, directed, and produced by An Chu ’22SOA, won the short-film jury award for international fiction at the 2024 Sundance Film Festival. Daughters, produced by Sam Bisbee ’90CC, won the audience award for best US documentary and the Festival Favorite Award. 

William W. Chin ’68CC, a Harvard Medical School professor and pharmaceutical-industry executive, received Singapore’s Honorary Citizen Award for his contributions to science and technology. 

Multiple alumni received 2024 MacDowell Fellowships, which support residencies at top arts organizations: architects Nina Cooke John ’98GSAPP and Janette Kim ’97CC; composer Dalit Warshaw ’96CC; theater artists Sam Chanse ’12SOA and Shayok Misha Chowdhury ’16SOA; visual artist Farah Mohammad ’21SOA; and writers Alexandra Kleeman ’12SOA, Christopher Kondrich ’08SOA, and James Yeh ’09SOA.

11 alumni make the 2024 Forbes “30 Under 30” lists:

Art and Style

Justice Faith Betty ’18GS, cofounder of Révolutionnaire

Oscar yi Hou ’21CC, visual artist

Consumer Technology

Nico Laqua ’22CC, cofounder of Basket Entertainment


Marissa Beatty ’22SEAS, founder of Turnover Labs

Claudia Herbert Colfer ’19GSAS, head of programming at United Nations Global Compact 


Zoia Kozakov ’20SPS, product leader at JPMorgan Chase

Food and Drink

Raghav Poddar ’19SEAS and Vamsi Gadiraju ’19SEAS, cofounders of Superorder 

Health Care

Christophe Rimann ’18SEAS, cofounder of Juniper Behavioral Health 


Lauren Aliza Green ’17CC, writer

Venture Capital

Sam Peurifoy ’20GSAS, founding partner at Hivemind