Alumni Go to Washington



Arts and Humanities

Peter Cook ’89GSAPP, member, Commission on Fine Arts

Beverly Gage '04GSAS, member, National Council on the Humanities



Ben Harris '03GSAS, assistant secretary for economic policy, Department of the Treasury

Ryan Jacobs '19BUS, chief speechwriter and senior advisor, Department of the Treasury

Neil Mehrotra '13GSAS, deputy assistant secretary for macroeconomics, Office of Economic Policy, Department of the Treasury

Arun Venkataraman '99LAW, director general, United States and Foreign Commercial Service, and assistant secretary, global markets, Department of Commerce


Energy and Environment

Travis Annatoyn ’10LAW, deputy solicitor, energy and mineral resources, Department of the Interior

Sue Biniaz ’83LAW, international negotiations lead for the Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, Department of State

Dimple Chaudhary ’05LAW, deputy general counsel, Nationwide Resource Protection Programs, Environmental Protection Agency

Jose W. Fernandez ’80LAW, under secretary of state, economic growth, energy, and the environment

Radhika Fox ’95CC, assistant administrator for water, Environmental Protection Agency

Lindsay Hamilton ’07SIPA, associate administrator for public affairs, Environmental Protection Agency

Monica Medina '86LAW, assistant secretary, Bureau and Oceans and International Environmental and Science Affairs, Department of State

Shara Mohtadi ’14CC, ’15SIPA, chief of staff, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Department of Energy

Narayan Subramanian ’13SEAS, ’20LAW, legal adviser, Office of General Counsel, Department of Energy

Shuchi Talati '10GSAS, chief of staff, Office of Fossil Energy, Department of Energy


Equity and Justice

Jasmine Bolton ’14LAW, senior counsel, Office for Civil Rights, Department of Education

Kristen Clarke ’00LAW, assistant attorney general for civil rights, Department of Justice

Caroline Fredrickson '92LAW, commissioner, Presidential Commission on SCOTUS

Pronita Gupta '96SIPA, special assistant to the president for labor and workers

Jennifer Klein ’90LAW, co-chair/executive director, White House Gender Policy Council

Nicholas McQuaid ’05LAW, acting assistant attorney general, Department of Justice

Trevor W. Morrison '98LAW, commissioner, Presidential Commission on SCOTUS

Myrna Pérez '03LAW, judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

Veronica S. Rossman '93CC, judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

Jocelyn Samuels ’81SIPA, ’82LAW, vice chair, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Michael Waldman ’82CC, member, Presidential Commission on the Supreme Court of the United States 

Bobby Watts ’94PH, member, COVID-19 Health Equity Task Force


Executive Office of the President

Sharon Block '87CC, associate administrator, Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs

Chris Inglis ’77SEAS, national cyber director

Karine Jean-Pierre ’03SIPA, White House principal deputy press secretary

Patrick Meyers ’15SIPA, researcher, White House Office of Presidential Personnel

Chris DeRusha ’09SIPA, federal chief information security officer, US Office of Management and Budget

Julissa Reynoso ’01LAW, chief of staff to Jill Biden and co-chair, White House Gender Policy Council

Jennifer Sokoler ’10LAW, associate counsel, White House Counsel’s Office


Defense and Foreign Affairs

Adil Ahmed '09CC, attorney advisor, Office of the General Counsel, Department of the Army

Antony Blinken ’88LAW, secretary of state

Asha Castleberry-Hernandez ’12SIPA senior adviser, Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs, Department of State

Julie Chung '96SIPA, ambassador extraordinary and plenipotentiary to the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Jeffrey DeLaurentis ’78SIPA, acting alternate rep. for special political affairs, US Mission to the United Nations 

Kevin Fashola ’17SIPA, special assistant, international security affairs, Department of Defense

Julie J. Chung '96SIPA, acting assistant secretary, Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs, Department of State

Jennifer R. Littlejohn '01SIPA, deputy director, policy planning staff, Department of State

Nancy McEldowney ’86SIPA, national security adviser to Vice President Harris

Brett McGurk ’99LAW, coordinator, Middle East and North Africa, National Security Council

Anne Neuberger ’05BUS, ’05SIPA, deputy national security adviser for cyber and emerging technology, National Security Council

Jung H. Pak '06GSAS, deputy assistant secretary, Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs, Department of State

Pamela N. Phan '00LAW, acting special representative for commercial and business affairs, Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs, Department of State

Michael Raynor '86SIPA, ambassador to Senegal and Guinea-Bissau 

Mira K. Resnick '05GSAS, deputy assistant secretary for Regional Security Bureau of Political-Military Affairs, Department of State 

Deborah Rosenblum '89SIPA, assistant secretary for nuclear, chemical, and biological defense, Department of Defense

Allison Schwier '12SEAS, acting science and technology advisor, Office of the Science and Technology Adviser

Margaret L. Taylor ’02LAW, general counsel, US Agency for International Development

Daniel E. White ’20SIPA, special assistant, strategy, plans, and capabilities, Department of Defense


Homeland Security

Jonathan E. Meyer ’92LAW, general counsel, Department of Homeland Security 



Amit Bose ’94CC, ’95SIPA, acting administrator, Federal Railroad Administration


Have we missed any appointees? Let us know at